The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am really curious about the discus eating / breeding habits because these guys are very aggressive when eating / breeding and peaceful all other times. I took a video of my discus eating and you can see that during the entire feeding process they were all on edge. It is very dance like in it's flow, a show perhaps. They didn't do any harm to one another though so that's good. It's just crazy to me how strong they are. I am considering moving the two bigger ones into another tank so the smaller guys can get a bit bigger. Thoughts on that?

P.S. the video is quite long (17m 20s)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pdtl4MB-v7w

One of the discus

·
Registered
390 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Hi,I am new to discus keeping and took a year of research before setting up and getting my fish about 6 weeks ago and just love them,mine act just like that at feeding time and as you can see in the short video at breeding time but as you noted there is no damage it seems like mostly scare tactics. Beautiful fish by the way.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sStrO93xZ4c
Yeah, I've noticed the behavior in the tank with my smaller discus as well. I got those first. Been growing them out slowly overtime. I actually did the same before I got mine. I was scared to kill them when I got them so I've been very cautious to study them before getting into it. I've been keeping them now for 6 months. It's just these big discus are something else. Absolutely unreal how powerful they are for discus. I was just concerned about the huge ones hurting the smaller ones. They seem to be fine and they've been in there for over a month now. We'll see how it all goes.

Congrats on the breeding! Beautiful fish you have there.

·
Registered
3,423 Posts