The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i am new at planted aquariums and bought some Java ferns online, when i got them in they were green, after i put them in my tank they turned a dark reddish brown, and they have had no new growth.they have not rotted so i dont know if they are dead, they have been in the tank for about a month. today i bought another java fern from our local petstore and they are bright green. what could cause the ones i bought online to turn reddish brown? could it be the light? or the water condition? any help is appreciated

i have other plants in there that have been in there for about a year and they are growing fine. we planted them as bulbs.

i have added pictures of the ones i got online, the green one is the new one i got from the pet store. sorry for the poor picture quality.

Attachments

·
Registered
316 Posts
Strange. Those are about as easy to care for as any aquatic plant used. I've seen them start to look raged or turn yellow/brown if they didn't have enough light, but if your other plants are growing then I doubt that is the case here.

You didn't bury the rhizome did you? The green stem like root at that runs along the bottom? If so, it needs to be above the substrate as this is a water feeder, not a root feeder.

·
Registered
1,079 Posts
Java's will still look green even when they have dried out. Kinda like dried parsley. The leaves will turn brown after they're in water and start to decay.

Hard to tell from the pictures. Try using more light when taking the pics.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·