The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think my drop checker is useless. This is my first time having one and the color never changes. I believe it is due to the fact my ph is already low, around 6.5. Am I doing something wrong?

·
Premium Member
606 Posts
Are you using tank water or 4 dKh water? You have to use the later in order for it to be accurate. It also lags by an hour or so. You may also not be injecting enough CO2 for the color change.

Ben

·
Registered
2,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Are you using tank water or 4 dKh water? You have to use the later in order for it to be accurate. It also lags by an hour or so. You may also not be injecting enough CO2 for the color change.

Ben
Yes I'm using the 4dkh fluid. Co2 has been off for 12 hours now and the drop check is yellow. Should I try and change the fluid?

·
Premium Member
606 Posts
It should not be a problem with the fluid if you are still seeing the color. Have you tried checking the pH of your water when the CO2 is off and when it is on. If you are getting CO2 into the tank, you will see a drop in the pH. If you are getting a drop by measuring the pH and the drop checker is not changing, then the drop checker is not effectively working and you can look into reasons for that.

The first thing I would do is check for the pH drop before trouble shooting the drop checker.

Ben

·
Registered
2,406 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
It should not be a problem with the fluid if you are still seeing the color. Have you tried checking the pH of your water when the CO2 is off and when it is on. If you are getting CO2 into the tank, you will see a drop in the pH. If you are getting a drop by measuring the pH and the drop checker is not changing, then the drop checker is not effectively working and you can look into reasons for that.

The first thing I would do is check for the pH drop before trouble shooting the drop checker.

Ben