1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi..I am a beginner and just did my first tank - a 15G tank. Here are the specs

Tank size - 15G (24"x12"x12")
Substrate - Power sand special + ADA Amazonia
Flora - Java Ferns, Anubias Nana, Bacopa Monnier, Hygrophila Polysperma, and Monosoloneim Tenerum, Dwarf Sags
Fauna - none till now.
Light - 36W CFL
CO2 - No Co2. Planning for a low tech tank.
Filter - 200 GPH Marina Canister Filter

I set up the tank around a month ago, added the aquasoil, did water changes for the first few days and after around 15 days added the first lot of the plants - the java ferns, the dwarf sags and a couple of anubias. Around a week later I received my second order of plants by mail - the Hygrophila, the bacopa monnier, a couple more anubias and the Monosoloneium tenerum. Its been around 4 days that i added the plants. I am keeping the lights on for 6 hours a day. The water temperature is a good 27 deg C.

The problem is that the plants aren't doing well. The dwarf sags have rooted to the substrate but i noticed a few leaves becoming transparent, the hygrophilla polysperma is in a bad condition - i did a partial water change yesterday and during the water change it's leaves came off like crazy. There are black spots on the java fern and today i observed a hole in one of the leaves of an anubias. As for the Pelia (M. tenerum), its turned brown and is melting/breaking off. The only plant that seems to be doing well is the bacopa monnier.

What's happening to my tank !!! What did I do wrong?? Or is it just a transplantation shock that the plants are going through. (I received all the plants by mail). I did a nitrate test yesterday and got a reading of 0 ppm. I have ordered the complete api freshwater kit and should be receiving it in a couple of days.

Please help me - What should I be doing now...I was hoping to add fish in around one month when the plants begin to thrive.

Adding a pic of my tank.

Attachments

·