The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So I have a 20 gallon long fry tank and a 55 gallon also and I have been noticing what I thought to be brown algae and I kind of need help deciding on how to proceed. I am very new to plants and these are my first plants. Both thanks are established (cycled). My ammonia and nitrite have always tested 0 and my nitrate stays below 40 and most the time below 20. I can test current nitrate if needed. Also I do weekly 50% water changes religiously. Have never missed a water change so far. I have two 4' T5 32 watt bulbs above the 55 gallon (5000k and 6500K) and I have a 30" aquon modular LED with 3 daytime bulbs above the 20 gallon. Somebody told me that this light is not the correct lights for plants. I plan on replacing it but then again if it is OK for plants then I may just save the money and leave it.

anyway I have what I think to be diatoms in both. The 55 gallon has been set up for over 6 months and the 20 gallon long has been set up a month or so.

So a lot of my leaves have turned transparent looking all the way down to the root. I have trimmed most of these leaves off in hopes that the plant recovers a bit. here is an example of a leaf that is turning transparent.

here are some examples of what I believed to be diatoms but I am not sure so I would appreciate any feedback.

The other photos were in the 20 gallon and this one is in the 55 gallon. Looks the same kind of but not exactly.

[

Also are these snails good or bad? do they eat algae? do they eat plants? will they damage fry? any idea of species/type? They hitched a ride on some of the plants I assume.

Here is an overview of the 55 gallon. I am trying to grow a wall of jungle val in the back. Think it looks ok?

Here an overview of the 20 gallon. Does the hornwort look OK?

and here is one of the fry lol.

·
Registered
5,934 Posts