The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I've had a small planted tank for a year (my first aquarium) and am having serious issues with poor plant growth. An experienced friend helped me get set up, but we are both flummoxed about what might be going on.

Here are some details (I am still an aquarium newbie so please forgive the imperfect language or extraneous details):
  • The tank is 5 gal, with the AquaClear 20 three-component filter system (foam + activated carbon + BioMax) running continually on low and filter components changed according to the manufacturer's schedule. No bubbler.
  • I have a basic white fluorescent light (sized to the aquarium lid, and bought from a local aquarium supply store) in the lid of the tank. I can't remember the wattage. I have the light set to be on about 8 hrs / day
  • I have a thermostatted 25 W heater and keep the tank consistently at 25.5 C.
  • I do water changes every two weeks, as follows: I remove about half of the water in the tank and replace it with local tap water that I've left standing for at least a day (after adjusting the temperature with boiling water).
In setting up the tank about a year ago, I did the following:
  • About 1.5 inches of Aquasoil on the bottom of the tank
  • I planted the tank with a mixture of plants I had purchased: some Hydrocotyle, Bacopa caroliniana, Helanthium tenellum, Rotala wallichii, and "Pearl Weed". I also have some small colourful pebbles (from local lakes, but thoroughly cleaned first) added to the tank for decoration, as well as a "castle".
  • Over time I slowly introduced small fish, two at a time -- guppies and neon tetras. I haven't ever had more than 7-8 fish at any one time. The tetras have mostly been consistent but we've gone through a number of guppies.