The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I am new to the world of planted tanks and even somewhat new to the aquarium hobby in general. I have a question I was wondering if any of you had experience with.

We had an established 29gal community tank, which got moved into a bigger tank. The 29 contained a cichlid for awhile which we decided was unhappy so we rehomed him (plus, I really wanted to plant the 29 and he was a huge digger).

So I drained about 70% of the water and removed all but a half inch of the old gravel. Placed new substrate in the tank, let it sit for a couple days, filled, planted. It's currently got 2 established HOB filters running on it. My questions are, did I do this the right way? And - will leaving some of the old gravel and running the HOB filters help cycle the tank faster? I ran an API test for Nitrite and Ammonia yesterday and both read 0ppm?

·
Registered
44 Posts
It should speed things up you did well seeding your tank I would keep an eye on it and give it a week .
Do you have any fish in it yet?

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
How long has the tank been empty of fish now?

The N-bacteria need a steady supply of food/ammonia to survive, and their population will start dying off if not supplied that.

I'd add a little ammonia and see what happens. 1ppm ammonia should end up approximately 1ppm of nitrate by the following day if the tank still has enough N-bacteria.

The alternative would be to stuff the tank full of plants and then just stock really slowly. I generally add my scavenger/algae crew in first and then wait a week or so before adding any of the midwater fish, anyways... if you start out with just some snails and shrimp, that gives time to make sure the tank is established and to take care of any ammonia spikes.

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·