The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm painfully new to this, so I was looking for some advice.

I'm giving my daughter a small starter tank (a Tetra Water 1.5g "Little Mermaid") to house a single Betta. This is supposed to be a surprise for Christmas, so I've sort of painted myself into a corner about how to pull this off, but without killing off poor Mr. Betta in the process.

I have no experience with aquariums or fish, etc. Over the last few days I've been researching Betta care, which lead me to also read about different tank styles. Eventually, I stumbled upon this planted tank community, which I have been fascinated with over the last few days! I've enjoyed reading about these planted tanks so much that down the road I would love to put together my own nano tank for my office, but that's another story for later!

Anyway, back to the topic at hand. I've read a lot about the Nitrogen Cycle, and how a tank should be cycled before introducing the fauna (news to me!). I really wanted to be able to give the tank and the fish and get it all setup for her on Christmas morning, but now after I read about the cycle, I'm not sure I can do this in good conscience without possibly harming the Betta. Not to mention, the possibility of dealing with an elaborate Betta funeral a few days later does not appeal to me!

Considering the 1.5g tank and a single Betta fish, and my Christmas surprise predicament, what do you guys think my options are? Is cycling absolutely necessary?

Thanks for any advice!
TCB

p.s. Forgot to mention, that at least initially there will be no live plants in this tank. Just the Betta, gravel, and the "little mermaid" statue.

·
Fresh Fish Freak
24,403 Posts
Hey, welcome to TPT, and it's great you want to provide your new Betta a proper environment and are doing your homework first!