The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
370 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a Trade in the S&S and another member offered me some RCS.

I would really like to take him up on it but I have never done shrimp in freshwater before and was wondering how well them might do for me.

One of my tanks has fish too predatory in nature I feel for them. The other has only a pair of corries. I think they would be fine in the latter tank if not for the amount of CO2 I pump into it. I have heard shrimp don't do so well in higher-tech tanks but was wondering what kind of limitation there are (especially in terms of CO2). Will it kill them or will they just not breed or have I just got some bunk info in the past?

·
Registered
216 Posts
I have a Trade in the S&S and another member offered me some RCS.

I would really like to take him up on it but I have never done shrimp in freshwater before and was wondering how well them might do for me.

One of my tanks has fish too predatory in nature I feel for them. The other has only a pair of corries. I think they would be fine in the latter tank if not for the amount of CO2 I pump into it. I have heard shrimp don't do so well in higher-tech tanks but was wondering what kind of limitation there are (especially in terms of CO2). Will it kill them or will they just not breed or have I just got some bunk info in the past?
I just lost two shrimp (Cherry and Amano) from jacking up my CO2 injection. I have a drop checker that's fairly mid-range green most of the time, but I got hit with an algae bloom so I bumped it up to a lemon/lime color. Shrimp were dead within 2 days. I'm not sure if it was the CO2 that did it or the drop in pH (went from about 6.5 to 6.0), but in any case, boooooo... :thumbsdow

Will

Will

·
Registered
93 Posts
I as well lost shrimp yesterday, two Glass shrimp and an RCS. Both, i believe due to upping the CO2 in the tank. Never lost any in my non CO2 nano.

·
Registered
1,401 Posts