The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m a complete beginner and have got a small aquarium for my son to have some African dwarf frogs and a few tetras. Having set up the aquarium a week ago I’ve noticed white cotton like stuff growing on the rock, how do I treat this?
Do I need to treat this before I get any fish / frogs?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks

·
Registered
1,848 Posts
Hi and Welcome to TPT!

Can you post a pic of the cotton like stuff on the rock?

What size is your tank? Dimensions would also be helpful.

If this is your first ever tank, you should read up on how to cycle a tank properly to make it safe for the fish and the frogs.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Plant Bedrock Sculpture Art Grass

Hi, I’m a complete beginner and have got a small aquarium for my son to have some African dwarf frogs and a few tetras. Having set up the aquarium a week ago I’ve noticed white cotton like stuff growing on the rock, how do I treat this?
Do I need to treat this before I get any fish / frogs?
Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks
Hi and Welcome to TPT!

Can you post a pic of the cotton like stuff on the rock?

What size is your tank? Dimensions would also be helpful.

If this is your first ever tank, you should read up on how to cycle a tank properly to make it safe for the fish and the frogs.
Thankyou, and thanks for the quick response. It’s a 25L tank, with a filter and heater, it’s been running nearly a week now in preparation for fish. Do you recommend any YouTube videos for cycling tank in preparation for them?

·
Super Moderator
16,083 Posts
Do you recommend any YouTube videos for cycling tank in preparation for them?