The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got off the phone with a supplier. He told me that the light fixture that I ordered would be a low light fixture. However looking at the PAR chart in the lighting forum, I would put this light fixture (48" freshwater) at about 40 PAR @ 25" from substrate. So if putting this on a 75 gallon tank, what would you classify this fixture as? I was thinking this fixture would work for low to mid lighting plants. AM I wrong in this thinking?

I was also told that I would have to have CO2 for this size tank. Is this true? I have seen plenty of tank around here that are larger than this one that don't run CO2. At this point in time I don't want to run CO2. I want to keep this as simple as possible.

Thanks in advance.

Grimm

·
Registered
33 Posts
I'm no expert but I tend to think most HO fixtures are probably med lighting. The thing that helps is the reflectors, which can obviously vary from tank to tank. I think you could grow most popular plants that aquarists keep. I use 2-36" HO fixtures on my 125 and my plants grow like crazy. As for CO2, not needed but may be desired. You can always use Excel or like brands, which is liquid CO2. You will notice a difference in the plants but it won't break your wallet. With the HO fixture, CO2 will be the limiting factor in great plant growth. Plants do generate their own CO2 to survive, but excessive growth will be limited.

Posted from Plantedtank.net App for Android

·
Registered
358 Posts
I am a big fan of non-C02 tanks and I highly encourage you to try this route if you are looking for simple.

In my experience, the key with non-CO2 set-ups is getting a good start with the tank, so make sure you have things well-researched and planned out. I am a personal advocate of the dry-start method.