The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK guys I'll preface by saying that I've kept shrimp (RCS and, briefly, CRS) before.

I'm starting up a new 46G in which I want to keep CRS and some schools of small fish (Microrasbora Erythrimicron, CPDs, Boraras Brigittae). Since I'm a student I figure this also gives me some possibility of selling the resultant CRS culls to my LFS for some $$ as well as being cool and large but low-maintenance. This 46G will be one of two tanks (one additional 5G awaiting a Dwarf Puffer) and so I'm hoping to maximize variety by having a couple of shrimp / invert types. So in addition to the CRS I was hoping to have CPOs and one other shrimp type.

Anyway on to the question:

-I was thinking of having Black-banded shrimp (Black Bee) because initially I thought they would interbreed with CRS but then I see them in numerous pictures feeding with high-quality CRS. Am I misreading the PlanetInverts chart which says NOT to keep them together? Or am I right, because the CRS description page on the same site has a feeding time picture that has a black-banded shrimp?

-If I can't keep black-banded with CRS and have true breeding CRS, what's a recommendation for shrimp that would do well with them? Please don't mention RCS because I would like something with closer water condition requirements (spec. pH / temp / etc.) so I don't have to compromise on maintaining an optimal environment for both species... It's a shame that the Blue Tigers will interbreed because those are very striking with their orange eyes. Anyway, recs appreciated.

Thanks!

·
Registered
102 Posts