The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, 1st planted tank, 75 gal, high light, where do i start with the co2. how many bpm? what test kit can i get for co2 measuring ?i don't want to trust the charts i see at this time as i don't yet know whats coming out the tap and i may need to bump up the hardness for the fish, when they get added

·
Registered
703 Posts
Start the bubble count at 1 or 2 bps, and then watch for your plants to pearl. If by the end of the day there is no pearling going on, increase it by another bubble per second. try doing a search within this forum or on google for co2 Drop Checker, this is what most people use to determine their level of co2 being dispersed throughout the tank.

I am also very new to pressurized, so if I am wrong (which i may be) please correct me.

·
Registered
1,189 Posts
Use a drop checker to test the CO2 level. They are pretty cheap on ebay; use 4 dKH water and add a few drops of pH reagent (if you've got an API test kit, it's just the pH test solution liquid) or get a drop checker that comes with reagent.
Green is about 30 PPM CO2, blue is less, yellow is too much.

BPM varies a lot. The design of the bubble counter dictates the bubble size, but about 2/second is a good starting point.

If you have an effective diffuser then you don't need as much.

·
Children Boogie
16,743 Posts
the bubble per second thing is tricky since bubble size vary. For me, 5-7 bubble(medium size)/sec will produce 30ppm CO2 in a 75G. So, a drop checker is better for getting a readout. The red sea drop checker is good and cheap too.

·
Registered
286 Posts
I'm dosing with excel, and most of the bubbles start pouring off the plants about 2-3 hours into the lighting cycle. I wonder if the dirtiness of the goldfish has something to do with it.

How do you guys handle ph changes from Co2 injection? Do you just use buffers?

·
Registered
336 Posts