The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So besides the "aquatek co2 proof" tubing on amazon, are there any other air tubing that wont disintegrate with a CO2 system? Are there certain materials that are co2 resistant, or clear that would also work?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What size is the tubing that fits most regulators? Would you mind linking to any place you get yours rdmustang1? Haha, I'm new to CO2 so any help would be grateful!

·
Registered
536 Posts
What size is the tubing that fits most regulators? Would you mind linking to any place you get yours rdmustang1? Haha, I'm new to CO2 so any help would be grateful!
The regulator itself doesn't attach to tubing. There is a post body that is a combination of a needle (or metering) valve and optionally a solenoid and/or check valve with an assortment of connectors, elbows, adapters, etc. On most builds the tubing connects to the check valve if one is used or the needle valve if one isn't used. Most builds use 1/4" OD tubing but there are variations.

Here is one of the tubing types that I use:
Tubing

I say to stay away from silicone because there is a lot of controversy whether it leaks CO2. Some people say vinyl yellows and hardens with age but others say it doesn't. Polyethylene is a good middle ground tubing that's cheap so I use it and haven't had any issues. Some of the "CO2 tubing" sold is polyethylene so I feel good using it.

CO2 Primer (A great read)

Do you have a regulator already?

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Not yet. I'm considering the aquatek mini co2 regulator or the
(leaning toward the aquatic life due to its compactness and the solenoid). Is there one that you would recommend besides the aquatic life?

·
Registered
963 Posts