The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
249 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm setting up a new tank and I'm doing CO2 for the first time. I've never done DIY CO2 and I was thinking about it but hear really good things about pressurized and am leaning more towards it because I am a grad student with not too much time (med), so I'd like something that's sort of 'set-it-and-forget-it.'

Anyway, because I'm a grad student I'm also on a budget, and I can't find a lot of information on assembling your own CO2 kit. I was wondering 1) if anyone had a link to a good guide on what components you need?

2) How to do it with a paintball tank (as in what size tank you'd need and add'l components necessary etc.)?

Because I see people selling paintball tanks in the ~10 lb range for like $30 on CL but I'm wary because I don't know what other materials I'll need to make one of these tanks work with my tank and I can't find info on how large a CO2 tank / setup I'd need for a 46G Bowfront. Thanks for any help!

·
Super Moderator
12,014 Posts
Also meant to ask that at this point should I still be considering DIY CO2?
because I am a grad student with not too much time (med), so I'd like something that's sort of 'set-it-and-forget-it.'
I believe you answered your own question in a previous post.

I can't find a lot of information on assembling your own CO2 kit. I was wondering 1) if anyone had a link to a good guide on what components you need?
Here are the things you will need:

CO2 Tank: I believe this is obvious.
Regulator: This will reduce the tank pressure from ~800 PSI to a workable delivery pressure (most people set it between 20-30 PSI).
Needle Valve: This will further reduce the working pressure to an even lower rate (i.e. bubbles per seconds).

Some more "optional" equipment (in quotations, because in reality, they are needed, but are more for "safety")