The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am very new to planted aquariums and I have several questions I am having a hard time clearing up. I have a 50 gallon tank 36 x 18 with flourite substrate with gravel on top, and a 96 watt compact flourescent light and a standard 30 watt flourescent light. I am looking to get a co2 system but I am not sure which one to get, can anyone recomend some systems to me because I am afraid to try the whole diy because I am afraid I will waste my money because I am not too tech savy. I have seen some systems that connect to paintball co2 canisters which I have, how long would the co2 last and is a paintball co2 canister the same thing as any other co2 canister? I also need to know if my lighting is adequate. I am planning to grow low to moderate high begginer plants. Last but not least I currently have a aquaclear 300 power filter, do I need filter that will not disturb the surface of the water and what kind of filter would this be? thanks.

·
Registered
2,423 Posts
Welcome...good to see a lot of new members here asking questions and poking around (I've been on a hiatus since I started a new job--I digress).

Right now you're at a low-mid light level with your current setup. You'll be surprised at what type of plants you can grow, but the key is co2, which you have already identified. I'm also glad you're willing to do enough research before making a common mistake of "trial and error" purchases like so many of us have (I admit this).

First things first...think about what you want out of your tank. Are you willing to put the time, effort, frustration, and unfortunately, a little bit of $ into it?

Second, do you want to keep your current filter setup? An AC is a good filter, and it sounds like you have the basic knowledge of minimal surface disturbance, etc. Most of us use canister filters since they're a bit easier to maintain in the long run and for their power.