The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First I must say I am new to planted tanks but this site his been absolutely invaluable to me in education and giving me the confidence to dive into this endeavor.

Stats: :75G freshwater tank
Finnex planted+ 24/7
Fluval G6 canister filter
Eco complete substrate
Semi automatic co2 injection

I was so lost about co2 but after lots of reading here i felt much more confident taking the plunge. As of now I'd say my tank is lightly planted as all my plants have not arrived yet. Currently i only have 3 emerald Cory's and 4 glofish in this newly setup tank. These were transferred from a 10G tank my son received as a gift. The plans for this tank is to be a fully planted discus tank.

My co2 question is in regards to PH. I set up my co2 system approximately 2 days ago. First day according to my drop checker my co2 was too low. The second day i bumped it to about 2 bubbles per second and my drop checker is now reading green. I noticed a significant drop in ph. It went from 7.6 to about 7.2.

I have my co2 set to run about 8 hours per day. My question is will the ph continue to drop each day or will the ph rise at night with co2 off? My main concern is stable ph for the discus.

·
Registered
90 Posts
The fish don't care about the pH, and even more so when the swings are directly caused by the CO2. pH swings are common when injecting CO2, up to 1 full point, 1.2, 1.3. You have nothing to worry about.

·
Registered
927 Posts
Co2