The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I have never used CO2 before and have recently set up my first planted 54 litre tank which will be for a betta boy. (I have had aquariums before - UK). Initially I bought a fluval CO2 system with small canister, it leaked, I was terrified so I bought a CO2 generator kit for use with citric acid and sodium bicarbonate. It claimed to come with bubble check counter and solenoid valve but it didn't. I've bought an in line bubble check but I really can't afford a solenoid at the moment (just had to pay over 拢200 for a vet bill). My question is do I really need a solenoid? Also what is the difference between a needle valve and a solenoid, could I use that instead. I'm reading so much conflicting information it's frying my brain. Please no tech talk just basic language 馃檹馃徑馃ズ Pic of tank and generator included (tank looks cloudy on pic because of wallpaper behind it but water is crystal clear). I don't have a fish at the moment. I've been cycling since May and have nitrates between 80 - 160 and pH 7.5+, nitrites and ammonia at 0 Thank you in advance
Water Vertebrate Plant Green Botany

Watch Material property Font Wood Paper

Registered
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I can't really help from the perspective of the method of CO2 you're using (DIY), but can answer what the use of a solenoid is: its main purpose is to completely shut off CO2 injection into the aquarium. Most of us running pressurized CO2 have the solenoid set up with a timer, controller, or both to either shut CO2 off once we've hit our target PH, and to shut it off at night since CO2 isn't needed.

I don't know how that would work with DIY CO2 since the pressure needs to go somewhere and if the container holding the gas isn't pressure rated, something would eventually need to give.

I've never used this method for CO2 so I can't really comment any further aside from the above.