The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 135 Posts

·
Registered
571 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm very new to pressurized CO2 and about to set up my first system. I just have some questions:

#1. I bought the Pro-SE Series Complete Aquarium CO2 System with New Inline CO2 Diffuser--is there anything else CO2-related I need to buy other than the CO2 cylinder?

#2. I'm using a canister filter; I read that some people hook up the CO2 regulator to the inflow tube instead of the outflow, to break up bubbles better. Is this recommended?

#3. Are there different types/sizes of CO2 cylinders? What is recommended for a 20 gallon?

#4. CO2 cylinders come empty and then you go somewhere to have them refilled, right?

#5. How do you know when your CO2 cylinder is running out?

Setup:
Tank: 20 gallon long
Type: Freshwater
Light: Finnex Fugeray
Substrate: ADA Aquasoil
Aquascape: Heavily planted
Heater: In-line Hydor
Filter: Eheim 2213
CO2 system: Pro-SE Series (not yet hooked up)

If any more information is needed, please let me know!

·
Registered
2,509 Posts
It looks like that kit comes with tubing and a drop checker, so you should be good to go.

There are some folks that say hooking up the co2 before the canister filter will shorten the canister filters life. Others say that's nonsense. I have no opinion on the subject but certainly adding gas to a canister filter will make it noisier then it would be without the gas.

Assuming you don't use a paintball cylinder, then in the states CO2 is typically sold as either a 5lb, 10lb, or 20lb cylinder. I own a 10lb which is around 20 inches tall and 7 inches in diameter. If you can fit a 10lb cylinder wherever you are keeping your stuff then definitely go that way. This way if you upgrade your tank down the line you can use the same cylinder or even run multiple tanks off the same cylinder.