The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
89 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently trying to buy a drop checker. I went on GLA but their drop checkers are about 30 bucks. :( Has anyone had any experience with a cheaper and dependable drop checker from eBay or some place else?

G

·
I use a ebay drop checker the only thing was I had to buy 4 dkh also. I think GLA it comes with 4 dkh as well which saves you money and shipping..

·
Registered
217 Posts
It came with a solution, too be honest I never paid attention to what the solution is. Again, I'm pretty new to this. It does not surprise me that I'm unable to get my CO2 up to satisfactory, I'm using a Red Sea Yeast reactor on a 38 gallon tank. I've been told that this will not do the job, but I was hoping.

are you using 4 dkh inside it or what are you using inside??

·
Banned
5,009 Posts

I've used two of the plastic Red Sea CO2 indicators. They have a white "middle area" that makes it easy to read the color. It comes with the Bromothymol blue pH indicator solution, but it doesn't come with the 4 dKH solution.You will either need to make your own or purchase it separately. The instructions that comes with this product is wrong. It says to use aquarium water, which is incorrect. Use a 4 dKH solution along with the Bb pH indicator.

http://www.bigalsonline.com/BigAlsUS/ctl3684/cp18478/si1380875/cl0/redseaco2indicator
http://www.cheappetproducts.net/RED_SEA_CO2_INDICATOR-P47150.html
http://www.dtpetsupplies.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=974

SuMo sells dKH solutions. They have 3 different solutions. Their 30 ppm solution is the 4 dKH solution.
http://www.sumoregulator.com/DropCheckerSolutions.html

GLA has the 4 dKH solution.
http://www.greenleafaquariums.com/co2-drop-checkers.html

G

·