The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm a casual hobbyist getting back into it after a couple years off... Last summer, for the first time in my life, I bought a used tank from a complete stranger...some college bros. They didn't clean it really much at all (they drained the water, but that seems to be about it...I have a sinking feeling there might be dead fish buried under the gravel, who knows) and I don't know the history of their tank, why they tore down, etc. I haven't touched the tank in about a year.

That said, I'm wondering how to approach cleaning it. I know how to clean a tank (I like using vinegar)--I don't know how to effectively sanitize one. I wasn't planning on using the gravel for the tank I'm about to set up, but I'm a little loathe to just throw it out, too... Is there a good way to make sure everything's nice and safe before setting up my next tank?

·
Registered
1,653 Posts
I would use bleach to sanitize which I have done before with a tank that house reptiles, and vinegar to get rid of calcium deposits.

·
Registered
12,411 Posts
Definite fan of bleach as the easy, cheap way. It is what's used by pros to clean everything from bathrooms to the water we drink so it is just matter of giving it plenty. There is no real way to say how much is just right as it reacts with almost all organic stuff (like dead fish?) and so we don't know exactly how much to go with the dirt we have.