The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here I am, a complete newbie at this! I've had several "easy" fish tanks throughout my life, nothing complicated, nothing planted. I recently acquired a 35gal tank from a friend. The stand itself is kind of cheesy but the tank is nice.

I decided I wanted to do a planted tank and am wishing that I would have come here first!!! I need a "do-over" on this tank as it is looking quite sad. Here's what I've got already and some questions. Keep in mind that I already started the tank and now want to start again to do it right this time! :)

I have a few plants already, not sure what they are, I will attach pictures (if you promise no eye rolling or pointing and laughing :redface:). I have 4 fish - a Betta, 2 small angels, and 1 balloon molly - they are all getting along wonderfully, no fin picking, no chasing, just peaceful. I had other kiddos and they died off (I'm not wondering why much anymore). I have some algae issues....

Here's my plan - move fish and some current water into a new tank for a temporary area while I re-do the larger tank that they are in now. I don't want to do a CO2 system. I'm on a fairly low budget and can do a few things extra, but I'd like to stick with what I have and just start over right if possible. I want to try to make the tank as self-sustaining as possible - I know this isn't going to be completely possible, but I'd like to make my own little environment that is well balanced. Right now the tank gets sunlight but when I start over - it'll be in an area that I can close the blinds and make sure that direct sunlight does not get into/on the tank.

Here are my questions