The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some clay and I would prefer to use something dry, but I know there are still many types of clay that are still not high in Iron. Is there something that someone can vouch for that would fit that job requirement? I am in Salem Oregon and cant seem to find a Pottery store nearby. What about clay kitty litter? Does it have Iron? I dont mind going online but would rather not.

·
Registered
10,732 Posts
Go to hobby lobby or a craft store. Typically the mexican red clays are what you are shooting for. UNfortunately they come in 5 lb boxes(all of 10 bucks, maybe) and would be enough for about 10,000 gallons.

·
Registered
400 Posts
What is this for? (Noob here, sorry). I take it you do need a clay that is high in iron? I'm a potter, but unfortunately I work in buff stoneware with magnesium which isn't one of the highest iron content clays. You are probably looking for red earthenware or low-fire clay. That's the type of clay that clay plant pots are made of. But if you want to try my clay I'd be happy to fill one of those little $5 flat rate boxes for you.

I use Laguna stoneware #60 but the specks are actually magnesium:

This clay is compounded to be a stoneware clay with specks that bleed through the glaze, giving the appearance of iron burning through, typical of reduction glazes and clays. A very popular throwing clay for production potters who want to add the speck dimension to their ware.​

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Junko thank you for the offer but I would not know if that would be good or bad in an aquarium. It is used when making MTS(see sticky at the top of this forum) I went to an art supplie place today and they sell play clay? low fire, it is gray, and it is 25lbs for 16$ Waaaaaay too much clay. I dont even know if it is the kind I need as I dont know what kind of clay is high in Iron. Thanks anyways Junko.

·
Registered
400 Posts