The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
1,235 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been battling the balance of my 55 for a few months and need to sound off to some of your experience for ideas.

How important is circulation to the health of our little Eco systems???
Things seem to get better for me once the water moves consistently throughout the tank. Is this the CO2 and or nutrients getting to all sides of a four foot tank?

Situation is I've been troubled by a brown/green slime for the last couple of months. This mostly inhabits the top of the tank and clears if I have an extra pump running. But the problem with this is I feel C02 is being stripped out of the water in the process.

I've bounced back an forth for a while turning off the CO2 at night and running the pump in the evenings. Or keeping the CO2 on 24/7 and still run the extra pump... bla bla bla.

Nothing seems to be killing this off 100%

Yesterday we returned from the foothills visiting family and the top 4" of the tank glass was covered in a bright green algae. Upon touching it it was slippery, far more slippery than I have found GDA. Darker gunk would pool at the side above the spray bar. Spray bar pointed down not moving the surface at all.

So at first I was under the impression it needed more NO3 and PO4 since the bio mass is more than I have ever dealt with before. Not so sure now. I've been using the sticky dosing suggestions with a pinch more NO3 lately. That didn't fix it since it did come back pretty hard. Or did the plants completely strip the tank in two days? I'm not trusting my NO3 test kits any longer.

I'm going to have to build one of the drop checkers so I can ensure my CO2 concentration is up to par.

Since the bio mass has increased the single 2026 pump with CO2 reactor seems to not have a real heavy flow as it used to. Hence the addition of the little RIO to add some water movement.