The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am looking for an economical light that will light up a 60 gallon (24" tall), low-tech, low/med planted tank. I was looking at:

Current USA Satellite Freshwater LED Light

VivaGrow DN RGB LED Aquarium Light Freshwater Plant 24/7 Remote Automation

Beamswork 48" DA 120 6500K LED Aquarium Light Pent Freshwater Plant Discus 120x 0.50W

Obviously, spending less would be better. Do you think I could be successful with any of these? Anything else I should be considering?

Thank you for the help. I'm still a bit of a newbie with something at this scale.

·
Registered
13,084 Posts
Links are broke.. vivigrow is a Finnex 24/7 knockoff..
Actually a good deal for a one trick pony (if using a ramp up/down) array..
Assuming they didn't "tweak" the program:

but PAR at 24" is a bit low.. in the 30's most likely.
24/7 numbers
depth/offset 1" 6"
12" - 75
16" - 65
18" - 48 45
20" - 45 40
Don't really recommend any Currents beside the "pro" version..

Beamswork is theoretically the most powerful light of the bunch.

All are somewhat lacking for a 24" tank and each is "really" different than the other..

Reactions: Chibils

·
Registered
167 Posts
I have the Beamswork you listed on a 22" deep 72 gallon Bowfront. It does a good job. There's always limitations with a low tech set up, but they can still look fairly plush. I won't be winning any scaping awards but my plants are doing well considering no CO2.

Also, it's currently sitting on the legs that come with it. I found it was just a little too bright for the Anubius sitting on the glass tops. You would be able to sit it on glass tops if you have them. The legs add a good 2 1/2 inches or so to the height.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,165 Posts