The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
okay, im very new to keeping an aquarium, but i have kept triops for a couple of years. I currently have one 5/6 week old triop in a 5 gal tank(i think) with java moss, elodea and a few (rapidly increasing) snails. i have no filtration or heating in the tank, and the water is pretty clear. temp around 25c. Can i add cherry shrimp to this tank? and if i can what can i do to make sure they are happy? :)

·
Registered
61 Posts
I'm with you GDP. Lol. When I was younger I wanted to get some but never did. I looked them up the other day and saw a video. Thought they were pretty cool bc they were so prehistoric looking, but they gave me the creeps.

·
Registered
1,618 Posts
triops will eat anything they can find. most likely your cherry shrimp will also be on that list. Do you have any idea about the rest of the parameters like ammonia in the water? I wouldn't mix them as it sounds like disaster honestly and the cherries will most likely just become food.

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
I kept triops with cherry shrimp for some time (months) without any problems, but the triops had plenty to eat. They're highly opportunistic, if they come on an easy kill like a sick or injured shrimp they'd happily do it, but they don't actively hunt if they have another, easier food source. 5-6 weeks is getting on in age though, you're only going to have it for another few weeks.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
thanks

thanks for the replies. I dont have a water testing kit atm, so not sure about the exact levels, but triops are especially sensitive to ammonia and nitrates, so i would say these levels are very low. after checking the triops forum, many people keep triops and shrimp together with no problems. I was really wondering if they'll be ok with no heater or filter? or are they essential for keeping shrimp?

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·