The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought 6 shrimp and 4 of them have been saddled for about 3 weeks now and none berried. Any ideas why? Im pretty sure the other two are males. Also, how big does the saddle get before the female becomes berried? Im pretty new to this.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Would filtered water from the store have anything to do with it? Its not the softest but not hard either. 5degrees gh and kh. Run slightly below 7pH but pH usually evens out at 7.

·
Super Moderator
12,126 Posts
Would filtered water from the store have anything to do with it? Its not the softest but not hard either. 5degrees gh and kh. Run slightly below 7pH but pH usually evens out at 7.

I don't think so - in my experience, RCS will breed in almost anything!

·
Registered
381 Posts
Sometimes it just takes a while for shrimp to settle or molt. I think some people feel shrimp berry less during the winter months. Be sure you have a male too and not young females with no saddles, some places will only sell female shrimp because they are better looking.

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
My males are just as big in size as my females. I have seen about 3 molted shells now but still waiting on berried female. So it is possible for them to breed in softer acidic waters? Can anyone confirm?

·
Registered
635 Posts
Well the saddle shrimp are in a stage of developing the eggs. In order for them to drop the eggs and be berried they got to molt.

What's your parameters?
Tds?
Temp?
RO filter water?
Tap water?
Gh? Kh?