The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

I'm just getting started on my second attempt at a nice planted tank and I am committed to getting this right. Last time I never got good plant growth (epic algae - leading to jokes along the lines of "Chaos' tank is right") and took down the tank after it sprung a leak.

This is my setup so far (thanks again to Darkblade48 who helped a lot with this):
Acrylic 20g long,
Coralife T5 lamp,
2 bags, black flourite sand.
Eheim ecco 2232
50W heater ( left from my 12g, this enough?)

Planned:
Pressurized CO2
HC and maybe Dwarf Grass
Lemon tetras
some shrimp, whatever I can get probably.

Right now I am planning on emmersed HC growth (I had lots of trouble with it not rooting last time) and am looking for some imput on what to do with the rest of the layout. I like the iwagumi look but realize it is quite difficult to pull off. My main question is, as a beginner, are my chances of success significantly better if I go fairly heavily planted?

At the moment I am planning to order plants for emmersed growth asap. Also, I collected some local rocks and need advice on weather or not to get more (based on deciding iwagumi vs heavily planted).

And now for some pics:

I just put all the rocks in there, this isnt a suggested layout. I will head back for more rocks this weekend if it makes sense to do so.

In the very bottom left there is a sticker which says 'Clear for life" the aquarium brand. Any ideas how I can get it off without scratching things?

Id love some input.

Chaos.

·
I ♥ BBA!
12,768 Posts
The black flourite sand is beautiful. I haven't seen many tanks with this substrate and I am intrigued to see the HC growing in it.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The black flourite sand is beautiful. I haven't seen many tanks with this substrate and I am intrigued to see the HC growing in it.