The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
:help: Hello All, I'm new to aquariums and I have a few questions
(I swear I tried to keep this brief.... it didn't work)

Yesterday I bought 5 new fish, 3 Neons and 2 Cardinals, I thought they would look good together and was mistaken that they just different breeds of the same species before I did my home work.

So before I go further here are my main questions;

1: will they school together?

2: How many of each species are needed for them to be healthy and happy?

3: If I do need more is it safe to stock more fish in my aquarium.

Here is the story;
I bought 3 neons then had to drive to another store to get 2 cardinals, then I drove home, floated them in bag, poured some tank water in, netted and released them into their new home with my other fish, and added my stress coat dose, and apx 1-2 ml of ich treatment.
I noticed one of the cardinals behaving strangely swimming at the top next to the glass, as if he wanted to escape... poor guy.

After feeding them some frozen blood worm I had to rush to my side job.
When I got home about 13 hours later, I discovered that one of the Neons had died and was belly up next my Peacock Fern.
I performed his last rites, and will soon give him a proper fish funeral in the garden bed, allowing his/her body to return to nature.

I did some research before going to sleep, and discovered they where 2 different species of the same genus, and that many people recommend having large schools of either of them, and not keeping them in small numbers.
I was quite sad about the death of Mr/Mrs Neon, and now very worried about my other new guys.

When I woke up I was so happily surprised to see my neons and cardinals appeared to be schooling together.
I will post more photos after my tank details, please tell me what you think,
are they really schooling with eachother?

If so is 4 a good school for them? or do I need more?