The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, as per usual I found a ton of conflicting information.

I recently moved 7 cardinal tetras out of my betta's tank after I saw them nipping him. I've since brought their numbers up to 13, in a species only 60p tank (17.1g). I've tested the water and everything seems to be within reason, but I may not have acclimated them very well, truth be told.

Over the last 2 days I've seen at least two of them flashing. I read this could just be some normal activity, but I have been carefully observing since then. This morning one of the afflicted individuals would not eat, and was very bright, instead of the deep red you might expect. A few moments ago I noticed that one of them (not sure if it's the same fish or not) had a white poo, which I would consider long for the fish (though I am new to this species).

I don't see any visible ich yet, though my other fish had been treated for it probably 2 months ago. My betta is kind of sickly, and has been through hell, so it's possible the original tetras picked something up from him.

My questions:
Can someone confirm that internal parasites would cause the fish to flash against the substrate and hardscape/glass?

Assuming it's internal parasites, should I use Metronodizole or Praziquantel?

I read that API general cure contains both, is that a better idea than just treating with one?

If I use the medication should I just dump it in the water as instructed, or should I try to soak some food pellets in a solution? I guess the fish not eating would necessitate me to dump it.

Will either/both of these kill my dwarf hairgrass carpet, which I just planted?

Someone else mentioned Hex on another board, and that garlic was a good method. Is garlic really effective enough to forgo the chemicals?

Anything I might be missing?

Thanks to anyone taking the time to weigh in.

·
Registered
11,721 Posts