The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to photography and editing. I have a Canon T5i with the kit lens, as well as a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 STM.

I use a tripod, and I use live view quite often. I use AF first, and then make manual adjustments when needed. I shoot mostly in Manual Exp Mode in order to get a good feel for the different settings, and to get the picture I want.

The only flash I have is the on board, for now. One of the things I am trying to do is determine whether or not the colors, and overall photo, come out better with or without flash. I know it would be better if I had an off camera flash, but for now that is not an option.

I am using the Canon software to edit RAW photos. Right now I do not have any other software, so this will have to do for now.

I welcome any advice or tips for better capture or editing. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Boeseman's Rainbow no flash 1/125 F/1.8 ISO 800

Boeseman's with flash 1/200 F/5 ISO 800

Neon Rainbow 1/125 F/2.2 ISO 800 (this one I edited a bit more than the others, mostly for sharpness, contrast, and NR)

Threadfin Rainbow 1/200 F/7.1 ISO 100 Flash

Thanks for looking, and for your feedback.

·
Registered
518 Posts
Some of these are slightly out of focus, with fast zippy fish like your rainbows. Try using back button focus if you aren't already, but I generally manually focus. I focus in on an area and wait for the fish to come into the zone. A faster shutter speed like 1/250th or faster. The aperture should be stopped down for more depth of field. #2 and #4 are the best photos, those photos have all the same things in common. They have a faster shutter speed and deeper depth of field. Photographing fish requires lots of patience, take your time and you'll be rewarded.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·