The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm brand new to owning an aquarium. I just purchased a Marineland 60 gallon heartland ensemble from PetSmart.

Not doing any research (big mistake on my part), I purchased a fluval g3 canister filter because according to my measurements, it would fit inside the stand. Well, it fits, with no kinks, at about a 10-15 degree angle. Not knowing anything about canister filters, will the angle become an issue?

I am thinking about sending it back and purchasing another fluval c3 filter but I wanted to double check with the experts and make sure :icon_wink

Thanks.

·
Registered
375 Posts
I purchased a fluval g3 canister filter because according to my measurements, it would fit inside the stand. Well, it fits, with no kinks, at about a 10-15 degree angle.
What does that mean? How can a square box-shaped device like G3 fit into a stand at "at 10-15 degree angle"? You need to explain better what you are talking about.

·
Registered
1,843 Posts
The bottom of the filter should sit squarely on the floor or the bottom of the stand. They aren't meant to be tilted so should sit upright.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
What does that mean? How can a square box-shaped device like G3 fit into a stand at "at 10-15 degree angle"? You need to explain better what you are talking about.
The heartland ensemble comes with a stand that has very minimal clearance on the inside of the stand. I took some measurements and realized the only canister filter that would fit inside the tank was the G3.

However, I did not take into account the aquastop where the tubes connect. To keep the hoses from kinking, I have created two wedges that hold the canister filter box at an angle. This is the only way to have the canister filter inside the stand without kinked hoses.