The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey folks,
first, i'm still pretty new at this, but will give what details i can. ..
i dont know the name of this plant, but i have a feeling it is pretty common, as it came in a plant package from AZaquaticgardens about a year ago.
it was doing wonderfully in my first tank, but then i decided to relocate it to my ram tank. same ph (7.4ish) , same substrate, same water hardness, same t5 lighting, co2 every other month...... flurish every week, per the instructions.

the other plants in the tank look awesome (chain sword, and corkscrew val)

this one plant however, is falling apart. ..
here are some pics.

as a thank you, here is a picture of the baby snapper my gf and i found on our driveway last week.

·
Registered
4,221 Posts
I bet it is melting because you moved it. Are new leaves forming that are normal? If so just remove the nasty leaves and it will grow right back.

It looks like the 'Rose' sword plant I had a few years ago. A tank swallower. One filled half filled my 5x2x2' tank. Beautiful plant.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
exactly, there are several very strong looking leaves in the middle, and then the outlying ones are dying. . ... trim them away?
and yea, that was the primary reason for moving it. .. it completely filled my 30g

·
Premium Member
2,466 Posts
Kathyy is right - it's a transplant stress, the roots were disturbed and trying to regrow; when it's well-rooted again, it will recover. Remove the melting leaves - nutrients are lost from those leaves and it can get infected just like an open wound. If you look closely at the picture, the new leaf growth looks healthy.

·
Registered
142 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yeap, it is probably going though an acclimation period. Cut the VERY poor leaves off, and wait for new growth. It might take a little while.

What is your substrate?