The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello!
I am setting up a planted tank with cherry shrimp and Celestial pearl danios and I was wondering if co2 would help at all or would it be bad for my tank?

list of plants:
Anubias,
Cryptocoryne
Banana lily aka the brain plant
Water Wisteria
Water lettuce?
Carpets: pearl weed and or dwarf sag
Java fern
Moss: Java moss, Subwassertang
Bucephalandra

This is my second proper tank so I am still a beginner learning about co2

edit: It is also a ten gallon, and don鈥檛 worry, I have not set up the tank yet and these are just plans for my new tank. I would just like to know about it before I do anything 馃憤馃徑

Registered
16g rimless cherry shrimp, 20g cube dwarf cichlid, 40g breeder nano community.
I think most of those plants on your list are easy slow growers and CO2 may not be necessary. CO2 will speed growth in the plants so if you want it go for it.

Premium Member
75g, 33L, 2g and play tanks
you can do co2 on any tank. Water Wisteria I think will be growing pretty fast for a 10g. you'll likely be trimming 1-2 times a week. especially with added co2. You don't have your light listed. You will want enough light as well if you do co2.

If you do co2, remember when you increase one thing you will want to increase everything across the board. so co2 goes up, more photosynthesis can take place so more light will be needed(not a lot, but still) and then they will want nutrients more too. So I maybe try an all-in-one. But best thing would be to test your tap water thoroughly to find out what it has. maybe get the report form the city. Then you can see what deficiencies are in the water so you can replace it.

Registered
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)