The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, so I'm going into surgery in one month. I tore my labrum and some other ligaments, or whatever (hey I'm no doctor).

Anyway, I have two lip piercings (snakebites). People tell me I'll have to take them out, problem is, they will close, and I'll be out $50 and a lot of pain it took to get these.

Will the plastic temporary ones be acceptable, or will the hospital still refuse to operate until I get rid of all piercings?

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I read about certain risks with something called an ESU I believe. Also, can be caught on face mask, or something.

I also assume they also see it as an infection risk.

Hospitals will take NO risks whenever they can cut them out. Malpractice is a (word for female dog).

·
Registered
1,602 Posts
you should only have to take them out during surgery, I would bring the plastic ones just in case. But you should be able to put them in after you out of the operating room. But I may be wrong, I would check with the hospital to be sure.

·
Registered
1,274 Posts
one of the Pre-op care that we are doing on the patient is to remove all the piercing stuff in the patient body, thats also inlcude rings, watch, necklace etc...

·
Registered
845 Posts
You know, it depends on the facility. Plastic "temp" spacers/piercings are allowed sometimes. That's why I say you should ask when you go to your pre-op appt. :) Bring in the temporary replacement to show them, it may help.

·
Premium Member
9,417 Posts
Are you getting any x-rays taken? Probably. Metals mess with x-rays so that's why they tell you to take it off. Well, in addition to the increase risk of infection since they can't be sure they sterilized it well enough...etc.

·
Registered
2,783 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 ·
No X-Rays, just shoulder surgery.