The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
354 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so as a complete newb I have been watching alot of YT videos on amazing scapes. been watching green aqua and others nature style tanks.

that is the style I am going for.

one theme I see in all there builds is they use alot of material and even have more to choose from. I totally understand this.

So my question is there there bulk suppliers of thinks like manzanita an other woods and hardscape?
one could easly spend a few hundred on hardscaping a small is tank.
is this normal?

any bulk suppliers out there?

OR should I just go collect it? I do like this part one reason that I wanted to start a FW planted vs another reef.
not any hard wood in my area mostly pine but i did collect some fun cotton wood pieces a few years ago when i was thinking of getting in, great shapes and was perfect for what my vision is.

or is it just going to be better to just such it up and buy some wood.

rocks:
any one that are known to cause problems? I do like the look of dragon stone but buying rocks seems silly I am sure I can find some cool one if I go look + its a labor of love then just buying.

what about quartz or jade. I do like hunting for rocks.

thanks for the feedback I want to do this right from the get go. tank will be high tech and either a 16 gal with the dems of 23.4"×11.8"×14.2" or a 49.1 gals with dims of 35.4"×19.7"×17.7"
cheers,
D

·
Registered
459 Posts
Yes, one could easy spend a lot of money on hardscape.

But that's not the only option. The issue with scavenging for your own material is that you run the risk of adding something that is going to poison your livestock or alter your water chemistry.