The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is there a post somewhere that explains how to plant bulbs by species so the right end is facing up?

I bought a package of bulbs from Pet Smart last week as I've never tried them before. I was just fiddling around with the tank and found two of the bulbs that I thought were not doing anything are growing into the substrate. DOH! LOL

I'm good with starting bulbs in the garden or even in pots, but this aquatic thing is new to me. On a good note, the water onion is growing like a weed.

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
can they be floated till they sprout? then you'll know which end goes up,as well as get a chance to pull the bad ones.
The instructions say to bury them about 3/4 which is fine, but they don't say which way to plant them. It's annoying.

They probably would sprout if floating, but I think I'll just keep checking them. Once a see a green, I'll turn them the right way.

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
The instructions say to bury them about 3/4 which is fine, but they don't say which way to plant them. It's annoying.

They probably would sprout if floating, but I think I'll just keep checking them. Once a see a green, I'll turn them the right way.
Depending on the species.. The Aponogetons ( little hairy pear-ish shaped ones.) will sprout and grow fine just by leaving them on the substrate.

·
Registered
1,295 Posts
The bulbs should be Nymphaea sp, Aponogeton sp. and, Crinum thaianum. Or they may be all Aponogeton sp.

Either way, if there is any covering on the bulb (that often makes if float) it should be removed. This is often a hairy, or flakey (like an onion). Also after being soaked, if the bulb has any soft parts, they should be removed.

Best way I've found to sprout them, is to do it in a bowl with water, in good light. It will help you find what end is "up" and will give some roots to help anchor down.

Good Luck!

·
Registered