The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Theres alot of writeups out there but alot of them are really complicated due to being built for larger tanks. Ran across a few smaller designs but i didnt like how they were put together, remember simplicity is what im going for.

Since this is going to be for a 30gal, i would guess the design could be alot more simple.

The tank is about 24" x 15".

Being introduced to Google SktechUp, i came up with these blue prints.

I have alot of 2x4s to put to use, so im aiming to use nothing but 2x4s.

Tell me what you think. Remember, this is my FIRST time building anything like this, so i dont know the tips and tricks or how to position each 2x4 for maximum strength. So please look over them and tell me the dos and donts.

After the frame is built, im going to cover them over ADA style.

Thanks
-Q

P.S. Heres the MFK thread if you want to keep updated on my new project.
http://www.monsterfishkeepers.com/fo...d.php?t=277619

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
The 2 x 4's at the bottom don't contribute much to the stand's strength. Since this is a new type of project for you I suggest you look for steel construction joint reinforcements and use them to make the corner joints. See http://www.plantedtank.net/forums/diy/85748-aquarium-stand-raw-industrial-style.html for ideas on what to use, and how to put it together. This way the plywood skin you plan to use doesn't have to be at all thick. It will just be for appearance, not strength.

·
Registered
23 Posts
2X4s are stronger on edge, id lap the front 2x4s past the sides so they both have bearing on the up rights. definitly use some corner brackets. good luck

·
Registered
21,012 Posts