The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
831 Posts
Yes, it can be done. Carbonic acid, humic acid, it doesn't matter which one you use to keep pH low as long as it remains stable. I started a taiwan bee tank running around 15-20 ppm 24/7. The problem I had was when the water line dropped, pH fluctuated due to gas exchange, therefore my bees wouldn't breed. As long as you can keep it consistent, I don't see a problem doing this.

·
Registered
3,297 Posts
I'm no expert on CO2 setups, never done so myself, but from what I do know, it seems a lot cheaper and more stable to set up a tank using buffering substrate, RO water and GH minerals.

If you go the cheap DIY CO2 route, there's a higher chance of overdosing the tank and killing your shrimp.

If you go high end route doing it "the right way", it can be rather expensive. Even then, things can still go wrong, although the chances are less when done correctly as compared to DIY. It's usually not recommended to run CO2 24/7 either, since plants produce less oxygen when the lights are off. I've seen it recommended to turn the CO2 on 1 hour before the lights come on and turn it off 1 hour before the lights go off.

Some people do recommend an air stone in a tank with shrimp and CO2, which can result in using CO2 *more* than without an airstone. Therefore, it costs more running CO2.

And then there's the factor of buying new tanks of CO2 vs refilling used CO2 tanks. The re-used tanks may not have as good of a seal as new CO2 tanks do, thus resulting in wasting CO2 if it ends up leaking out.

Feel free to take this information with a grain of salt because, like I've said, I've never set up CO2 in a tank, I've only read about it and some of the pitfalls of using it.

·
Registered
794 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the response @Zoidburg!