The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I am relatively new to the planted tank world. I've had this tank for about 7 months. I chose easy plants for a low maintenance experience (I have a 55 gallon reef tank that has been going for 7 year, and that is a lot of work to keep the corals happy and growing). Over the last three months or so I have been noticing the anubias leaves getting pale and moss getting brown. The moss still grows, and the moss on my backwall is much greener than the moss on the rock. Anubius still has slow new growth but looks pretty unhealthy. I started dosing Seachem Florish about a month ago and did not notice any change. In addition, I started dosing Seachem Excel about two weeks ago and still no change... maybe the dwarf hairgrass looks a little greener.

The animals seem very happy. I started with 10 orange cherry shrimp and now have more than I can count (probably like 50), the two platties I started with turned into ~15, 5 tetras, two mollies, 3 guppies.

Today I started thinking my lights may be two strong, so I reduced them by 50%. But I look forward to some opinions from people who know about this stuff :)

A little more about my tank:
20 gallon AIO Frag tank repurposed for this planted tank
Filtration: Water goes through some fine filter mesh, a bunch of sponges, 3 bags of different filter media (bio ball, cylinders, balls) with a185 gph pump
Lights: Two Current-USA LE Pro LED. I've attached the spec.
Water Changes: I do 25% to 50% water changes every week. Usually 50% because it is so easy.
Parameters: I don't test anything (I do enough of that on my reef tank). I use tap water treated with imagitarium Water Conditioner. My tap water is soft water (it run through a water softener).
No CO2:
Water Property Pet supply Rectangle Urban design

Plant Plant community Botany Terrestrial plant Vegetation

Flower Plant Plant community Terrestrial plant Grass