The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I'm a newbie currently working on 2 tanks--a 5 gallon, set up about 2 months ago, and a 29 gallon which is still cycling. All was well in the 5 gallon until recently, when I started getting brown algae. Some info:

-It's a Fluval Spec V, and I am using the stock lighting, which has been enough for my java fern, anubias, and pennywort, all of which are growing steadily. I also have 3 moss balls and a large piece of driftwood in the tank.

-No CO2, no ferts except regular Flourish, which I stopped dosing when I saw the brown algae, so a couple of weeks ago.

-Lights on 9 hours per day.

-One betta in tank, nothing else.

-I cycled using Tetra Safe Start, and have always had readings of 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite AND 0 nitrate which I find pretty weird...not sure what is going on there. I've never had a high reading on any of these, in 2 months. I use the API kit.

So my questions is: I know brown algae is common in new setups but what is the best way to deal with it? Reduce lighting? Add lighting? Just keep cleaning it off the leaves? I've read a lot of conflicting advice on different sites. But this forum is always the most helpful and sane, so I thought I would ask for your help. Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated!

Hayden

p.s. The pennywort has grown very quickly...maybe it's blocking the light a bit...would that be an influence? Also, I really want to put some of it in my 29gallon as a floating plant but I'm afraid that would just introduce the algae into the new tank, even if I use a "clean" looking piece...

·
Registered
4,032 Posts
Cut hours of lighting for now, ensure you have good flow over all leaves, and wait. It will be gone before long. Snails are very good at cleaning brown algae off leaves.

·
Premium Member
606 Posts