The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, my name is Martha and I am new to this hobby. I have a new week old 55 gallon tank with 3 small marble angelfish and 3 small Denison barbs. All juveniles. I have some Amazon sword and Java fern planted also, with some water wisteria and dwarf sag on the way. I also have 3 more Denison’s coming that should be here tomorrow. So far so good. I am going to do my first water change this weekend and I check my water parameters every few days. No ammonia, nitrite and minimal nitrate. Any advice?

·
Registered
3,261 Posts
Hello and welcome!

The biggest piece of advice I can give you is to do big weekly water changes 50+% every week and bigger is better. To that end you should invest in a water changing system (because siphons and buckets on a 55 gallon is horrible). The system I use is called a Python but there are a few out there that will do the job.

The other thing I recommend is figuring out your fertilizer system for your plants. I like Nicolg ThriveC for a low tech planted tank because its an all in one you dose just once a week after your water change.

Good luck!!

·
Registered
"All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us." Gandalf: Lord of the Rings
316 Posts
Welcome to the hobby Martha.