The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Premium Member
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm pretty new to having a planted tank. I've had plants in my 29 gallon off and on again but the tank was not set up with plants in mind and as such they never thrived.

I'm also not sure what defines a 'low tech' setup but I would have to think mine certainly qualified for that.

I just got bought a used 75 gallon and it came with the following:

Marineland double bright LED (48")
Aquatop CF500-UV canister filter
150W submersible heater (two, temp at 79)

I also added:
100# Carib Sea Eco Complete
Seachem Flourish Excel (dose daily)
Seachem Flourish (dose weekly)
Seachem plant tabs (about 15)

My pH has always held at about 7 - 7.2, ammonia and nitrites at 0 and nitrates currently at about 5 - 10.

For fish I have the following:

Clown loaches (two at 25 years old and three at about 2 years)
Upside down catfish (one at about 10, one at about 5)
Zebra loaches (three at about 3 years)
Otocinclus (three, brand new)
Some hatchet fish and white clouds round everything out.

From what I've read my Marineland double bright LED is not going to cut it for plants. I plan on getting a Finnex 24/7. For a 75 gallon tank measuring 17" from the water surface to the bottom of the gravel would that be a good choice? Would that be low, medium, or a high light level? If I get the Finnex should I keep the Marineland double bright on the tank also or would it not really be doing much?

Is my dosing schedule with the Seachem ferts on par with what I should be doing? I was not planning on continually adding the plant tabs, I had them left over and thought it would be a good idea to add them to the fresh substrate. My assumption is that as the tank ages the accumulated fish mulm and any uneaten food will eventually suffice (although I'm careful not to overfeed).