The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
332 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really want to keep some blue rams, i'm thinking maybe 2 but i'm so confused on how difficult it is or isn't to keep cichlids. There are so many conflicting views out there! I've got a rainbow shark and 2 gourami's in the tank already and i'd also like to keep some similar sized schooling fish as well. Thoughts? I'm also a newb if you couldn't tell by this and my countless other annoying posts :icon_smil. Thanks guys.

·
Registered
173 Posts
GBR's are pretty easy to keep. but they can tend to be a little aggressive at times. You should be safe getting a pair, but I would keep an eye on them for a few days to make sure they aren't bullying your other fish.

I keep a mating pair with a 12 or so rainbows in a 55g and as long as the rainbows don't get near the eggs everybody is happy.

·
Registered
263 Posts
I was a bit worry about getting German Blue Ram, since I am a beginner myself. I only begun this hobby about 6 month ago. That day when I was in the fish store, I thought that I saw a pair of German Blues! I just had to get it lol.
After I got the pair GBR, I did more water changes just for them :p . They are great fish! my favor by far!

917 Posts
Don't worry, they're easy to keep and they're somewhat peaceful. It probably helps all fish if your tank is heavily planted. I got two at Petsmart on Monday and they laid eggs within 12 hours, and they haven't eaten them either. Still guarding them as a team.

The only issues I've seen them have is with my female dwarf puffer... I guess she got territorial or whatever because of the new fish. It was kinda like a standoff, no picking or anything. The puffer imitated it and was the one to swim away out of fear. The GBR never did anything to it.