The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I’m relatively new to the shrimp-keeping hobby, so I’m definitely inexperienced. I have an 8.75 G planted tank with 9 Bloody Mary shrimp, 3 Mystery Snails, and a LOT of pest snails (which I don’t mind). I’ve had the tank for about 4 months and have had the shrimp for around 3, and I saw one berried shrimp one time. She never had babies, and I never saw her again (at least not berried, I obviously don’t know exactly which shrimp it was). There’s nothing in there that would eat the babies, and there’s PLENTY of plant coverage. All of the shrimp are active, I feed them a varied diet (algae wafers, vegetable sticks, Bacter AE, and veggies occasionally), and my tank parameters seem to be right around where they should be. Is anything wrong, or am I just impatient?
Thank you for any and all advice!!

pH: 8.2
Temp: 70.8°F
Ammonia: 0 ppm (maybe a bit more than 0 but definitely not 0.25 ppm, it’s hard to tell which color exactly)
Nitrate: 40 ppm
Nitrite: 0 ppm

·
Registered
52 Posts
If you've had them for at least 4 months that's plenty of time for them to have bred. One thing that stands out from reading your post is the lack of protein in list of food. Protein is essential for breeding. Shrimp aren't really algae eaters per say. They're scavengers and omnivores. If you're not feeding protein, I would start there. Plenty of shrimp food like Shrimp King and others have high protein content.

·
Registered
304 Posts
I agree protein is necessary; check the ingredients on the algae wafers and see if they added any spirulina. That is mostly protein which would help. I use crab cuisine and micro worms for proteins as well as other foods.