The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Helloz

well its my first time at this website, and its my first C02 system.
I got the Milwaukee regulator and it seems i blew it up.... can these be fixed ?

·
Registered
183 Posts
Hi,

Sorry to hear about your regulator. What exactly happened to it or what symptoms does it display? Did you put the regulator on your co2 canister then open the valve on the co2 before opening the main valve and needle valve?

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
With a Milwaukee regulator you have to follow their instructions for starting the system, or you experience just the type of problem you seem to have. Pressure gages can be replaced, but as I recall, they install those gages with a sealant, and high torque, making it extremely difficult to remove them. I didn't try very hard to remove mine, but hard enough to see that it is a problem.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
well from what it appears .... it pressure gauge and the needle are dead.
i cant remember what exactly happened, but i do remember that too much pressure went into the regulator which caused the needle of the gauge to do a whole circle. and hit the bottom of the plastic needle on which it usually sits.

·
Registered
21,012 Posts
That is the typical result of opening the CO2 bottle valve with the regulator pressure knob not backed all the way out, to zero output pressure. I think it is just the gage that is ruined, not the regulator. But, when I tried to remove that gage on mine, so I could use it on a different regulator, it was obvious that I was not going to be able to do it without risking damage to the regulator from holding it against the wrench toque on the gage. It is worth trying though.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
okay, lets say i changed the needle valve (cause for some reason its stuck and wouldn't turn) .... is it possible to make the system run without the guage ?