The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I’m a complete newbie to aquarium keeping so I apologise in advance for my lack of knowledge here.

I’ve recently acquired an aquanano tank and have been accumulating what I think is biofilm on the surface of the water. I’ve had the tank for around 3 months now and I’m yet to put any fish or anything else into it yet. So far it’s just the pump, heater, filters, substrate and some ornaments in. However, in spite of this I’m still getting a thick daily buildup on the surface of the water even when removing it daily with paper towels.

I wondered if anyone could tell me where it could be coming from without fish in the tank? And if I need to worry about it before putting fish into the water?

Thanks for the help!

Nicola

·
Registered
2,737 Posts
Hi everyone,

I’m a complete newbie to aquarium keeping so I apologise in advance for my lack of knowledge here.

I’ve recently acquired an aquanano tank and have been accumulating what I think is biofilm on the surface of the water. I’ve had the tank for around 3 months now and I’m yet to put any fish or anything else into it yet. So far it’s just the pump, heater, filters, substrate and some ornaments in. However, in spite of this I’m still getting a thick daily buildup on the surface of the water even when removing it daily with paper towels.

I wondered if anyone could tell me where it could be coming from without fish in the tank? And if I need to worry about it before putting fish into the water?

Thanks for the help!

Nicola