The Planted Tank Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
528 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have not bought or otherwise transacted fish in many years as have had a thriving colony of endlers that of course produce endless offspring. In the past I have given excess back to my local LFS. But I don't really like my local LFS and suspect they just throw them in a feeder tank. I've read some articles that state endlers are becoming more rare or at least more genetically blended with guppies to where the original endler is lost. Mine are from the same group I bought in maybe 2015 and do not appear to be hybrids (but I am no expert on that).

I am interested in understanding if there is a market for endlers and the easiest venues, online and otherwise, to unload them when needed, to people who actually want endlers in their tank (not as snacks for existing fish). My preference would be to give out a "mixed bag" of endlers of different sizes and sex for just packing/shipping cost or free for pickup. Like one avenue I was thinking is to find a local fish group and post ads on their site. Then I may not even need to ship. Craigs list is too shady. What are the avenues I should explore? Again looking for EASY although learning how to ship fish sounds like an interesting experience to at least try once.

·
Registered
206 Posts
In my opinion your best bet would be to join a local fish club. Many people would be more than happy to have some endlers and chances are would be willing to give you something in return.

As an afterthought if that group has really been going for that long you might want to add some genetic diversity

·
Registered
1,414 Posts
Agreed on a local fish club. Are there any other LFSs relatively near you? It could be worth the drive to a better LFS if you can get a good standing with them, since there'll hopefully be better quality fish and stuff there...

There's also AquaBid.

Maybe I'll hit ya up once I've moved and if my water is super hard!

·