The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
712 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

My main tank has Eco-Complete which I hear isn't the most ideal substrate for shrimp - but that can't be helped at this point.

I also want to set up a much smaller tank and add some cherry shrimp I'll be getting next week. Substrate for shrimp is something I can control with this one.

What's the best? Thanks!

·
Registered
785 Posts
I'm not an expert but been using Fluval Shrimp Stratum on my tank both 40B and 10g.

Too bad Amazon is in Cali.
http://www.amazon.com/Hagen-12686-F...UL8S/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1314896004&sr=8-2
8.8lb is only $19.35 for me with primes shipping :) and no taxes.
This is the cheapest i ever seen it, and end up buying 2 bags last week for reserve.

Anyway, very easy to work with a little light but decent at growing plants and my shrimps love rolling the pellets around. Plus they breed like roaches.

·
Registered
5,116 Posts
I used eco-complete for my cherries, tigers and snowballs. My cherries are breeding like mad right now. About 15 babies I can see, 4 more berried, 3 more saddled and probably lots more babies I can't see yet.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I use ADA aquasoil amazonia II, which buffers my water pretty nicely. It's a little pricey though. I've heard good things about fluval shrimp stratum, but I've never tried it.

IMO, cherry shrimp will be okay in almost any substrate - shrimps that require specific water conditions is where you might be more concerned about what substrate to use.

·
Premium Member
7,997 Posts
Try to get a soil made for shrimp or aquasoil amazonia. Those are the best.

I use stratum, Mr. Aqua soil and aquasoil, ill be trying out the new up aqua shrimp soil soon too. They all work pretty good so far

·
Registered
824 Posts