The Planted Tank Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I’m new to planted aquariums and I’ve really enjoyed reading about and seeing pictures of your beautiful planted tanks. As a child and teen (years ago) we had several aquariums but things seem a lot more complicated now, maybe just because it’s me rather than my parents holding responsibility. If someone would be willing to help me with some newbie questions, I’d be grateful.

I have a 21 gallon tank that has been up for about two months. I started with some live plants but am now planning to add many more plants to make it a true planted aquarium. I have six guppies and two African dwarf frogs in the tank and a variety of about ten other fish which I call ‘the staff’. These ten are in there to combat algae (pleco, algae eating shrimps, golden Chinese algae eaters).

So, a week ago things were pretty bad. Last Friday (the tank is in my office and I’m only in that office Tuesday to Friday) I covered the end of the tank closest to the window and left the light off for the whole weekend. I had just added a few more ‘staff’ and by Tuesday morning things were looking better. My plants suffered from having the lights off all weekend. At the beginning I did have the lights on for 12 hours a day every day but have now cut back to eight hours a day. My canopy has two lights. I don’t know enough about it to tell you exact details but they are not the same and I was told the back one is good for the plants and my plants are growing quickly, although they looked better with 12 hours of light each day and for sure looked better before having the light off all weekend.

I think that’s all the background. Now for the questions:

1. Hair algae is definitely a major problem. What is a ‘SAE’?
2. What does ‘get your water parameters in check’ mean?
3. I have stopped fertilizing (liquid) while I deal with the algae. Good idea, or not really?